The Providence of God

I really don’t believe that we can either accept the truth of the providence of God or see it fully in our lives, moment by moment, until we know the sovereignty of God. And as He is sovereign over all things, His hand is everywhere. That brings me such immense comfort.  But it also makes me wonder sometimes….what is He doing in my life, what does that particular event, encounter, or person in my life mean? I can’t help but think how absolutely astounded I will be once He takes me home to glory to see how intricately everything was woven together, far far beyond my comprehension now.  Mystery. Precious.

John Calvin, Institutes of the Christian Religion (Book 1, Chp.16:3) “…governing heaven and earth by his providence, he so overrules all things that nothing happens without his counsel. For when it is said in the psalms,”He hath done whatsoever he hath pleased” (Ps.115:3), the thing meant is his sure and deliberate purpose.”

***  For that I praise His Holy Name  ***

IMG_8058

Leave a Reply

